You are here

The search for Australia’s best managers begins again in 2015

Thursday, February 19, 2015

The search for Australia’s best managers has begun again in earnest as the Australian Institute of Management has launched its Excellence Awards program for 2015.

Held on a national stage for the first time last year, the Excellence Awards are unique from other business awards as they have a distinct focus on individual managers that inspire people and lead their teams to success.
Members are encouraged to nominate themselves or another high achieving manager for the opportunity to be recognised by industry leaders while having their achievements highlighted in the national media.

Peter George of South Australia took out the Manager of the Year title in 2014 for the dedication he demonstrated in his role as Group Manager of Employers Mutual Limited.

“Winning the state award blew my mind, so to be named the National Manger of the Year was truly, truly amazing,” Mr George said.

Elaine Bensted of Zoos South Australia was named as the Not for Profit Manager of the Year after leading a major cultural change and improving the financial viability of Zoos SA.

“It was an honour for me to receive the acknowledgement at both the state and National level and proved a talking point for me with many members, volunteers, staff and supporters,” Ms Bensted said.

Point Project Management Manager and Founder, Michael Snare of Canberra was named the Owner Manager of the Year and he attributed his success to creating a great place to work which has enabled him to attract some of Australia’s top talent.

“I really enjoyed the entire awards process as it was a very reflective experience that enabled me to think about what it means to be a manager,” Mr Snare said.

Finn Kelly, 29 of Victoria was declared the Young Manager of the Year for his role as the Cofounder and Chief Executive Officer of Wealth Enhancers, a Gen Y financial advisory business.

“Winning this award was an absolute privilege and the process enabled me to reflect on my own achievements as well as the business so I found the whole experience very enjoyable,” Mr Kelly said.

AIM Chief Executive Officer, Daniel Musson FAIM has said that with such a successful awards program in 2014 he has no doubts that the Excellence Awards will unearth some of Australia’s best management talent again this year.

“As I travelled around Australia it was clear that everyone involved got something out of the awards last year,” Mr Musson said.

“Those who were nominated by a peer received valuable recognition and those who completed the nomination commented that the process had helped them to evaluate their career progress and goals.

“Finalists were given a fantastic opportunity to network with their peers and many of them highlighted the rigor of the judging process as a personal development process.

“Even the judges came away inspired by the opportunity to meet with some of Australia’s leading lights so it was a great experience for everyone involved.”

Dates for the 2015 Excellence Awards are as follows:

Nominations open

1 February 2015

Applications open

1 March 2015

Nominations close

17 July 2015

Applications close

31 July 2015

Finalists announced

14 August 2015

For more information on how to nominate please visit