You are here

Excellence Awards finalists take aim at national recognition

Monday, November 3, 2014

The Australian Institute of Management would like to wish all of the finalists for this week’s AIM Excellence Awards the best of luck.

With the Awards being held for the first time on a national stage, there is an impressive group of professionals from around the country.

To make it this far in the competition in its inaugural year, each of these managers has demonstrated the qualities and attributes that all of us in the professional world should aspire to.

From orchestras to accountants and zoos to the public service, this year’s finalists are from every industry great and small but all share the same passion for leading and inspiring others.

AIM Chief Executive Officer Daniel Musson FAIM has said that the list of finalists is truly remarkable and is in fitting with the storied history of the awards.

“For 20 years these awards have unearthed some of Australia’s true household names and I’m sure this year’s crop of finalists will unveil another era of brilliant managers,” Mr Musson said.

“Regardless of the outcome on the night, all finalists are representation of the best in Australian management and AIM is extremely proud to be aligned with each of these outstanding people.”

The competition to determine Australia’s best and brightest leaders will reach its dramatic conclusion at a glittering gala event at Brisbane City Hall on Friday 7 November.

Master of ceremonies for the evening will be television and radio personality, Mike Goldman. Grammy nominated singer/songwriter and former INXS front man Ciaran Gribbin will be providing the night’s entertainment at an event that promises not to be missed.

The finalists for the 2014 AIM Excellence Awards are:

Young Manager of the Year

Sarah Klein, Airservices Australia - representing NSW & ACT
Damien Boorman, Translink - representing Queensland
Chris Hooper, Cirillo Hooper & Company - representing South Australia
Finn Kelly, Wealth Enhancers - representing Victoria

Not For Profit Manager of the Year

Marie-Louise Pearson, Darwin Symphony Orchestra - representing Northern Territory
Aleisha Davis, The Shepherd Centre - representing NSW & ACT
Feda Adra, ComLink Limited - representing Queensland
Elaine Bensted, Zoos South Australia - representing South Australia
Therese Taylor, Colony 47 - representing Tasmania
Cliff Barclay, UnitingCare Ballarat - representing Victoria

Owner Manager of the Year

Michael Snare, Point Project Management - representing NSW & ACT
Paul Stokes, Artius - representing Queensland
Damien Smart, Smartgroup SA - representing South Australia
Chris Sargent, Plants Management Australia - representing Tasmania
Sarah Riegelhuth, Wealth Enhancers - representing Victoria

Manager of the Year

Lisa Hewlett, O'Donoghues First National - representing Northern Territory
Steven Flynn, Baxter Healthcare - representing NSW & ACT
James Bangay, Fugro Roames Pty Ltd - representing Queensland
Peter George, Employers Mutual - representing South Australia       
Andrew Fuaux, Maroondah City Council - representing Victoria

View photos from the AIM Excellence Awards State Finals on our Facebook page. Or for more on the Awards visit