You are here

Northern Territory Excellence Awards winners announced

Wednesday, September 9, 2015

Four outstanding Northern Territory managers have tonight been named as the best in their field at the Australian Institute of Management’s annual Northern Territory Excellence Awards, held at The Hilton Darwin.

Nicholas Coatsworth (second from left) was named the Northern Territory Manager of the Year for his role as the Executive Director of the National Critical Care and Trauma Response Centre (NCCTRC), a Commonwealth agency coordinating Australia's overseas medical disaster response, a trauma service to Royal Darwin Hospital and an international standard disaster response education package.

Mr Coatsworth has recently implemented a successful new Strategic and Operational plan while overseeing three major operational imperatives with Cyclone Pam, Ebola preparedness and Cyclone Lam.

“I’d like to thank the 34 people who I work with at the NCCTRC as they are all exceptionally dedicated Territorians and I’ve learnt an incredible amount from them over the past 15 months,” Mr Coatsworth said.

The Not for Profit Manager of the Year category was won by Liza Metcalfe (far right) for her leadership as the HR, IT and Administrative Services Manager of Somerville Community Services, a not-for-profit organisation who provide a wide scope of welfare services throughout the Northern Territory.

Through Ms Metcalfe’s leadership, Somerville has been consistently recognised as an employer of choice and she recently led her team in achieving Certificate and Award levels for Australian Service Excellence Standards (ASES).

“Working for a not for profit certainly broadens your skill set as I’m called upon to be an HR specialist, an IT guru and the person that jumps out of a birthday cake in a bunny suit,” Ms Metcalfe said.

“It’s the most rewarding job as I’m surrounded by dedicated people who share the same goals as I do which is all about empowering others.”

Matthew Moss (second from right) was named the Young Manager of the Year for his role as Dixon Group General Manager, a property development group, specialising in full turnkey design and construction projects.

In his role, Mr Moss oversees the groups Property Development, Leasing/Sales, Construction, Property Management and passive investment divisions, including the group’s $85m development, the Darwin Corporate Park.

“I’m passionate about Darwin and I know the Dixon Group is as well so it’s great for myself and the company to be recognised through this award,” Mr Moss said.

“I believe leadership has a lot to do with passion and drive which is what I bring to my role with Dixon.”

The Owner Manager of the Year award went to Darwin Chef, Selvam Kandasamy (far left) who is Director and Head Chef at Saffron, a highly-awarded Parap restaurant, known for its innovative Indian menu that is all about promoting Territory produce.

The judges commended his ability to achieve at a high level in an extremely competitive business field and noted that innovation and technology have been key factors in his success.

“We’re very proud of what we’ve achieved at Saffrron as we’re the first restaurant in Australia to receive green certification as well as climate action certification,” Mr Kandasamy said.

“Being able to showcase the fantastic seafood in Northern Territory as well as locally sourced produce is incredibly important to us.”

The winners of the Northern Territory Excellence Awards will now have an opportunity to vie for the ultimate prize at the National Excellence Awards in Melbourne on October 16.