You are here

Tasmania Excellence Awards winners announced

Thursday, September 24, 2015

Three outstanding Tasmanian managers have been named as the best in their field in the Australian Institute of Management’s annual Excellence Awards.

Retirement Benefits Fund (RBF) Chief Executive Officer, Philip Mussared (right) took out the top prize as Tasmania Manager of the Year after a stellar 12 months overseeing the Tasmanian-owned public sector superannuation fund.

Under Mr Mussared’s leadership, RBF was named the 2015 Small Fund of the Year and shortlisted for Fund of the Year in the Conexus Financial Superannuation Awards.        

Judges praised the manner in which Mr Mussared’s polished and well-rounded management abilities had enabled him to deliver significant projects and manage large budgets leading to RBF’s enviable current financial position.

“I'd like to thank the RBF board as it’s been through their support that we've been able to achieve so much over the past five years,” Mr Mussared said.

"We couldn't have achieved any of it of course without our team of 90 staff who are committed and dedicated to the objective of looking after our 75,000 Tasmanian members."

Business advisor and coach, Daryl Connelly (left) was awarded the Not for Profit Manager of the Year for his work at Cradle Coast Innovation, a community organisation established to foster a culture of innovation and entrepreneurship.

Mr Connely has transformed Cradle Coast Innovation from a volunteer organisation with zero revenue, to a well-resourced organisation that has provided one on one assistance to almost 300 clients in the past three years.

Judges were impressed by Mr Connely’s commitment to the North West coast as he actively seeks new ways to deliver services while offering his time to help the community.

“I’d like to thank the Institute and the judges for their thoughtful and challenging questions during the judging today and I’m very pleased to be accepting this award tonight.” Mr Connely said.

“I’d also like to thank the managers that I’ve worked with in the past as I think that ultimately we become those that we spend the most time with and I’ve had the good fortune of working with some great people over the years."

The Owner Manager of the Year category for business owners was awarded to Kirk Pinner, Managing Director at Outside the Square Solutions who due to travel was unable to attend the award ceremony.

Mr Pinner has managed to grow the local training business from three to 14 staff and has seen a 110 percent increase in clients during the last financial year.

Judges said Mr Pinner’s success can be attributed to being passionate and innovative in the way he engages his community as well as staff.      

AIM CEO David Pich congratulated the winners of the Tasmania Excellence Awards and said it was fantastic to see such a high calibre of local leadership on display.

“These leaders perfectly embody what these awards are about which is celebrating management excellence, no matter the position, location or industry,” Mr Pich said.

“With such a high calibre of finalists represented in each category, they can be immensely proud of their win and we look forward to seeing them in Melbourne for the National Excellence Awards.”

The winners of the Tasmanian Excellence Awards will now have an opportunity to vie for the ultimate prize at the National Excellence Awards in Melbourne on October 16.